I Dare You Book Tag

Hello everyone!

A few days ago, Donna at The Untitled Book Blog tagged me in the I Dare You Book Tag.

The rules are: you must be honest, you can’t not answer a question and you have to tag 4 people to join in

Which book has been on your shelves the longest?

The honest answer to this is I’m not sure, but one of the first book series I ever loved was the Pony Club Secrets books by Stacy Gregg so I’m going to say them. My copies are now incredibly tatty, but I still reread them at least a couple of times a year as I love the world so much and I know it so well.

What is your last read, current read and the book you’ll read next?

My last read was This Beats Perfect by Rebecca Denton (which is excellent), my current read is See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng (also excellent!) and my next read will probably be Running on the Rooftops of the World by Jess Butterworth (but I only really decide on the day)

What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?

There are a lot of books like this (although I never really HATE books,  I just don’t like some as much as I do others), but recent ones include Time-Travelling with a Hamster and the Girl of Ink and Stars.

What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read but you probably won’t?

I tend to get round to everything eventually, but I have a copy of a Pseudonymous Bosch book from their new series and I’ve had it for YEARS. I think it might be time to admit to myself I’ll never read it…

Which book are you saving for ‘retirement’? 

Um, I’m quite a long way off retirement, but a book I’m saving for a special occasion is Emil and the Detectives, because I find it hard to get into classics sometimes (although if you want to find out some classics I really love, you can read the post I wrote about it on Friday!). I’ve had this recommended to me lots so I really want to get to it soon!

Last page: read it first or wait till the end? 

Wait till the end, always!

Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside? 

I love acknowledgements, it’s always super fun to see that there are lots of people involved, not just the author. It also lets you see a little bit of the author’s personality sometimes.

Which book characters would you switch lives with? 

Most of the books I read are things I like to read about, not necessarily live through, but there are two worlds I would love to be part of; Harriet’s in the Geek Girl series by Holly Smale, or Skye in the Chocolate Box Girls series by Cathy Cassidy.

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

The one that sticks in my mind most are the last two Malory Towers books, which were read to me in hospital after my brain surgery at the point when my eyesight hadn’t yet returned. People might not think Enid Blyton (or Pamela Cox writing as her) is the best author in the world, and neither do I, but those books were the light and enjoyment in some very dark days.

Name a book you acquired in an interesting way

One book that I really love (ancient acquired in an interesting way) is Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg-Sloan, which was given to me by Helen Moss the day she came to meet me (my prize from the Authors for the Philippines auction), which is a book that moved me in so many ways I couldn’t list them. So thank you Helen!

Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

The only book I remember loaning to someone ((that I didn’t have another copy of) is Ways to Live Forever by Sally Nicholls (which I can’t do justice with any superlative. Just read it, and you’ll see what I mean) and they didn’t give me it back, which is why I don’t much like lending books to other people! I sent someone my spare copy of the Creeping Shadow by Jonathan Stroud though, as I know they love the Lockwood and Co series just as much as I do.

Which book has been with you most places?

The honest answer is I don’t know, but if I was guessing I’d probably say Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison, which I take on most holidays because I reread at regular intervals as I love it so much.

Any required reading that you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad a few years later?

I’m still AT high school, so I haven’t really revisited anything I’ve studied as there are always new things. I tend to enjoy most things my current English teacher (who I’ve had for two years and am probably getting next year) chooses, but I didn’t love Noughts and Crosses or To Kill a Mockingbird as much as I have the plays we’ve studied like Tally’s Blood and the Merchant of Venice.

What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

I don’t think I’ve ever found an item in a book. I’ve found some drawings in 2nd hand ones though.

Used or new?

I prefer new (from a bookshop), but a good book is a good book, no matter how it looks.

Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Yes, the movies of John Green books. I really didn’t like John Green’s books (Sorry to any fans reading, just my personal taste), but I completely LOVE the film versions of Paper Towns and TFIOS.

A book that never should have been published

Unless a book is actually offensive in a very serious way (e.g racist or homophobic or ableist, all of which I’ve seen in books and generally put straight back down) I think all books deserve to be read by an audience they appeal to.

Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry? 

Yes! I love books with food in them! Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike books are excellent for this, as are the Chocolate Box Girls  (I really wish The Chocolate Box existed in real life).

Who is the one person who’s book advice you will always take? 

There are lots of people whose recommendations I trust, such as book bloggers and authors I like, but there isn’t any one person who I trust absolutely for recommendations, as everyone’s taste varies.

I don’t know who has or hasn’t done this, so I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you’ve enjoyed reading my post, why not give it a go? I’d love to read it!

Amy x

 

 

 

 

 

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Middle grade/young adult book blogger

2 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag”

  1. Enid Blyton is a great author when you need something that’s light and easy. I’ve never read the continuations though – what are they like? (Brain surgery, and not getting your eyesight back straight away, must have been terribly scary. I hope everything’s ok now.)

    I have a copy of Counting by 7s which I picked up randomly. Might have to boost it up the tbr!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I quite like the continuations! Think they’re really fun. Brain surgery was very scary (I was 7) and I have most of my sight back now (my eyes are still quite poor and I have no blindspot/double vision but I can see, which is much better than the expected outcome of me being blind for the rest of my life ) but still have health issues which stem back to surgery and my other tumours.
      I adored Counting by 7s, I highly recommend it. Glad you liked the post! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

