The Ice Lolly Book Tag

Hi everybody!

Today I’m writing a book tag post, but you may not have heard of this tag yet, as CharlotteLouise and I decided to make one to celebrate summer (which was a very, very fun Twitter conversation!). The idea is comparing books to ice cream, and as I love both I can’t think of anything better.

Disclaimer; the excellent sketches are drawn by Charlotte, not me (I can’t draw a stick man, so I’d never pull off anything as am amazing as these!). Thanks for letting me use them Charlotte!

Hope you enjoy reading my answers 😊

IMG_20170716_161246

1. Mini Milk- Short but Sweet– Unboxed by Non Pratt, which is an absolutely stunning Barrington Stoke novella about friendship, grief and secrets. Read this book everyone!

2. Magnum- Best Classic- I’ve actually written a whole post about my favourite classics ( 5 Children’s Classics I Think You Should Read) but I think my absolute favourite is The One Hundred and One Dalmatians by Dodie Smith.

3. Cornetto- Hidden Surprise at the End- I think this might be the easiest question for me in the whole tag. The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke has twists up till the last page that are still haunting me over a year after I’ve read it (and reread it twice, as it’s JUST SO GOOD.

4. Rocket Lolly- More Exciting from the Outside- Life in a Fishbowl by Len Vlahos. This book sounded fantastic, but it was so depressing and dull that I DNFed after about 100 pages.

IMG_20170716_161302

5. Ben and Jerry’s- Most Versatile Author- If you know me, you’ll know that I’m an absolute Emma Carroll superfan, and I’m choosing her for this question because no matter what the plot of her book is (and it varies from ghost stories to lyrical adventures), they’re always absolutely amazing.

6. FABWeak ending- The first book that comes to mind is Every Day by David Levithan, which I enjoyed but found the ending really unsatisfactory and I don’t think I’ll be picking up the sequel.

7. Calippo- Work Hard to Get the Good Stuff Out- A book that I initially couldn’t get into, but ended up loving, is Songs About a Girl by Chris Russell. I’m so looking forward to getting round to reading the sequel soon.

8. Rainbow Lollies- Favourite LGBTQIA Read- I have 2 I can’t choose between for this one; Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, which is one of the cutest, loveliest books I’ve ever read, and Radio Silence by Alice Oseman.

IMG_20170716_161251

9. Nobbly Bobbly- Gritty Subject, Sweet Message- My choice for this has to be the Spinster Club Series by Holly Bourne. They deal with a lot of important issues- feminism, mental health, and having an alcoholic parent to name just a few, but are still laugh out loud funny in places and ultimately feel-good.

10. Boss Strawberry Double- Best book by an international author- My favourite book written by an author who doesn’t live in Britain is probably Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, which I fell utterly in love with last summer.

11. Magnum Ice Cream- Weird but Good- Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher is very unusual in writing style (and content, for that matter!) but it’s a brilliant read that’ll keep you on the edge of your seat throughout.

12. Crunchie Blast- Best Spinoff/Retelling- First Class Murder by Robin Stevens. This isn’t a straight spinoff of Murder on the Orient Express, but I know that Robin took inspiration from that text and it was one of the main reasons she chose to set a book there, and she pays several homages to the book throughout First Class Murder.

IMG_20170716_161257

13. Solero- Light and fluffy- the Geek Girl series by Holly Smale. I really can’t shout about how much I love these books enough.

14. Choc ice- A book you don’t want to admit you love- For me this is probably the World of Wishes books by Carol Barton, which I reread last year and still adored, despite being a lot older than the age group they’re aimed at! In general though, my view on the matter is any reading is good reading and no one should be judging other people’s choices.

15. Fruit Lolly- Left on the Shelf- I’m taking this one to mean a book that’s been on your TBR for so long that you don’t want to read it any more, and for me that book is Bad Magic by Pseudonymus Bosch. The Secrets series is super quirky and cool, but I tried this and I just couldn’t get into it. I’ll stick to rereading the Secrets books I think!

16. Mint Choc Chip- A book you either love or hate- There are some books which split the bookish community pretty much down the middle, and one of them seems to be The Graces by Laure Eve. I’m personally firmly in the love camp!

And that’s the end of my tag! We (Charlotte, Louise and I) decided that 4 tags seemed like a good number so I’m tagging:

Marie from Lots of Livres

Aoife from Pretty Purple Polka Dots

Zoe from No Safer Place

Layla from Readable Life

If you aren’t tagged but want to join in, please go for it! I’d love to read your post ❤

If you want to use the graphic, feel free.

All we ask if you want to take part is that you credit us (Amy, Charlotte and Louise) as the creators of the tag 😊

I really hope to see at least a couple of people joining in with this soon!

Amy x

 

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Middle grade/young adult book blogger

11 thoughts on “The Ice Lolly Book Tag”

Leave a Reply

