If You Liked This Book, You’ll Enjoy This One Too! | Winter Edition

Hello everybody! Today, I’m going to be doing another if you like x book, read y type post, which I always love writing, and this time it’s a winter edition. Onto the post!


Disclaimer: there are LOADS of books I could have used in this post, and I really hope no one is offended if their book or a book they’ve loved isn’t in here,, they’re just the first things that popped into my head and I’ll almost definitely do a similar post next year!


If you liked THE SECRET STARLING, try THE HOUSE ON HOARDER HILL

One of these is middle grade historical mystery set in the 1970s, and the other is a present day magical mystery, and although they have a lot of differences, I think at the core of both is a family mystery that needs to be unravelled which is why I’ve put them together. Hoarder Hill is definitely set during the Christmas holidays, and while I can’t remember exact dates for Secret Starling, I’m assuming it might be similar because I read it on New Year’s Day the year it came out.

If you liked MISTLETOE AND MURDER, try TROUBLE IN A TUTU!

So, I love the Murder Most Unladylike books, and no matter how hard I try, I’ve never quite managed to find a Christmas mystery that hit the spot for me just as much as Mistletoe and Murder, BUT Helen Lipscombe’s second Swan House book did a very good job filling the void for me last year; it isn’t technically set at Christmas, but it’s still very Christmassy as there are a lot of references to the Nutcracker, a ballet which plays a big part in the plot. It’s a properly exciting mystery with lots of intrigue and excitement and spies and ballet! And I’m cheating a tiny bit here, but you should also check out MURDER IN MIDWINTER by Fleur Hitchcock, the master of MG thrillers.

Did ONE CHRISTMAS NIGHT warm your heart? Try THE VANDERBEEKERS ON 141ST STREET for similar feel good vibes!

The order of these was determined by the fact that One Christmas Night is very much an adult book, so this only really applies to adult readers who like middle grade, but these have very similar themes of community and appearances being deceiving sometimes, and they’re both very heartwarming and lovely.

Just finished THE GOOD BEAR and looking for another wintry animal story? SNOW FOAL is perfect for you!

Both of these are heartwarming stories about the bond between children and animals, which is the most obvious link between them, but they also have themes of family not always being linear and uncomplicated, and I loved both.

Looking for a funny festive read like THE MIRACLE ON EBENEEZER STREET? 2021 debut THE CHRISTMAS CARROLLS is exactly what you need in your life!

I read and really enjoyed Catherine Doyle’s Christmas Carol retelling last year, as it’s such a magical, fun story, and while the Christmas Carrolls is more of a contemporary, I feel like they have quite similar vibes and they gave me the absolute warm fuzzies. Both are perfect for getting into the Christmas spirit.

Need another polar fantasy like THE EYE OF THE NORTH to devour under a cosy blanket? Helenka Stachera has you covered with THE ICE WHISPERERS!

I usually only do five books for each of these posts but I’ve already cheated a bit, and I really wanted to mention these two because reading the Ice Whisperers just reminded me somehow of the Eye of the North. Emmeline and Thing aren’t biological siblings but they very much feel like brother and sister to me, and the relationship between the sisters in the Ice Whisperers melted my heart completely. They both have great worldbuilding as well. I’d also recommend 2018 release FROSTFIRE if you’ve enjoyed these too.


Thank you so much for reading! Do you have any thoughts on the books I’ve mentioned, if you’ve read them? Are you planning to add any to your TBR? I’d love to hear in the comments!

Amy x

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Disabled book blogger who also writes TV, film, music and other posts from time to time | UKYABA Champion Teen 2018 | Email: goldenbooksgirl@gmail.com | she/her

2 thoughts on “If You Liked This Book, You’ll Enjoy This One Too! | Winter Edition”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: