Kate Foster’s Favourite Books of 2022

Hello everybody, and happy Boxing day! As a golden blogmas is continuing on until the 31st December this year, we still have a few more days to go. Hopefully you’ll all still be on board with the Christmassy vibes!

Today’s is a post from Kate Foster, who has written about books she hoped people would find under their tree (or, now Christmas is over, you could buy with vouchers or money!). Onto the post!


Oh my goodness… how does a person choose just a handful of books to buy people as Christmas presents (and also presents at all other times of the year because books are the best presents?!)? Especially this year, because 2022 has been AMAZING for book releases. I’ve read some absolute crackers!

Anyway, I’ve tried SUPER HARD to narrow my list down so that I don’t write a 20k word report which sends everyone to sleep. Please shower me with praise for my efforts. I accept cake (also a perfect present for any time of the year). BOOKS I THINK PEOPLE SHOULD FIND UNDER THEIR TREE THIS CHRISTMAS (kidlit special!):

The Secret Wild by Alex Evelyn

Engaging, exciting, original, colourful! Set in London, highlighting some wonderful landmarks, this perfect middle grade novel is unusual in that right at the core of the mystery are plants. Protagonist Fern is incredibly relatable. Alex has balanced tender moments with humour and fun and fascinating facts. I highly recommend! FASCINATING!

Small by Hannah Moffatt

I adored this book! It’s exactly the kind of story I’d have gobbled up as child. I mean, it’s set in a school for Gifted Giants so you can immediately guess what kind of madcap capers are brewing. Perfect escapism, absolutely bonkers, and a triumph in my opinion. An instant classic for me and I imagine so many kids too. A CLASSIC!

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor by Xiran Jay Zhao

“A middle grade contemporary fantasy that follows a young boy as he journeys across China to seal the underworld shut and save the mortal realm.” How cool does this sound?! And trust me, it totally lives up to expectation. It’s definitely for older middle grade readers since there are many layers to the adventure, but Xiran does an amazing job bringing it all together. Gamers will love this! THRILLING!

The Extraordinary Adventures of Alice Tonks by Emily Kenny

One of my absolute favourites this year. Not only has Emily broken ground by putting an autistic character in a fabulous and fun fantasy – though any and all children will make a strong connection with protagonist, Alice – but she has also taken a classic boarding school story, added in magic and talking animals and shapeshifting and given them all utterly unique twists. A TERRIFIC BOOK!

Arc of Scythe series by Neal Shusterman

However much I’d like to find Neal Shusterman himself under my tree this Christmas – sounds creepy but he’s one of my most favourite authors ever so it’s fine – I’m recommending the Arc of Scythe trilogy for teen (and adult) readers who like something that skews a little dark, disturbing, and thought-provoking. Gleanings, which is book # 3.5 in the series was released this year, but it will never not be the right time to start the series – or any of Neal’s books. Set in a world with no disease or natural death, this book ventures deep into the ugly side of humanity. INCREDIBLE.


Thank you so much for reading! Which books are you planning to buy for yourself now Christmas is over? Did you get any bookish gifts yesterday? Have you read Kate’s book, or are you going to? I’d really like to have a chat in the comments!

Speak very soon,

Amy xxx

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Disabled book blogger who also writes TV, film, music and other posts from time to time | UKYABA Champion Teen 2018 | Email: goldenbooksgirl@gmail.com | she/her

One thought on “Kate Foster’s Favourite Books of 2022”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.