My Most Anticipated September-October Releases

Hello everybody! Today, I’m going to be talking about the books I’m most excited for in September and October, even though I’ve made a little bit of a mess of my scheduling and the September releases will all be out already πŸ™ˆ. Onto the books!


The Trouble With Perfect– this is the sequel to last year’s A Place Called Perfect, and I’m intrigued by this as I really enjoyed the first, but also because I thought that was an excellent standalone and I want to know what’ll happen in it. The first had such a spooky vibe given how creepy the town was, and the villains were very sinister too, so I’m hoping for similar from this.

And Then We Collided– this is co-written by Rosie, whose blog I always really enjoy, and I’m so excited to read her fiction work. It’s a YA contemporary that gives me major Parent Trap vibes from the synopsis, and I’m looking forward to reading it a lot.

Dramas of a Teenage Heiress– I loved the first installment of this series when I read it during my February half term, and there’s lots of things that have me wanting to get my mitts on the sequel. I’m hoping for more character development for Flick, some progression in the love triangle hinted at and set up a bit in book one, and also lots of laughs (which are pretty much guaranteed given that Flick owns an Instagram dog superstar!).

The Lost Magician– while I found There May be a Castle disappointing, I loved the Last Wild trilogy so much by Piers Torday. It sounds like a fabulous MG fantasy, and I’m interested to see the paralells to Narnia that I’ve heard about from people who got an early copy.

The Eleventh Trade– the main reason I want to read this is because Jess Butterworth (one of my favourite authors) recommended it on Twitter. Another reason I want to read it is that it’s about a refugee from Afghanistan, and as I found The Fox Girl and White Gazelle and the Boy at the Back of the Class really interesting, I think there’s a good chance I’ll like this too.

Death in the Spotlight– I’m such a fangirl for the Murder Most Unladylike books, and I’m very, very excited about the 7th installment. It takes place in London, where Daisy and Hazel are working in a theatre, and of course a murder happens there which they must solve. I have every reason to believe I’ll love this as much as the past six books, and I’m delighted to have two books in the series releasing this year (and a short story! Fans of Wells and Wong are being absolutely spoiled in 2018 😍)

Wundersmith– this is the follow up to Nevermoor, which I read last year and thought was an exceptionally good MG fantasy. I don’t want to spoil the events of book one, so all I’ll say is that I’m hoping the worldbuilding will be even more special and magical, and hopefully introduce us to more of Nevermoor, and I’m very excited to see what will happen to Morrigan, the protagonist, next.

The Train to Impossible Places– I’ve been desperate to read this ever since it was announced a few months ago. The fantasy world sounds so fun and magical, and the cover is such a stunner (as is the naked hardback). I can’t wait to have this in my hands.

The Missing Barbegazi– when this goes up, I may already have read this as I’m lucky enough to be recieving a review copy, and I’m very excited about getting to it as I write this. I was intrigued the moment I saw the GORGEOUS cover on Twitter and I became even more interested when I heard about the plot, which has some similarities to Eva Ibbotson’s the Abominables (and I thought that was really sweet).

What If It’s Us– this is a co-written YA contemporary by Becky Albertalli, and while Adam’s books are still on my TBR I’m a huge fan of both the books I’ve read from Becky so far. This sounds like such a lovely romance book, and I’m also delighted it’s set in New York as I usually enjoy that.


What books are you most excited for in September and October? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter @GoldenBooksGirl!

Amy x

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Disabled book blogger who also writes TV, film, music and other posts from time to time | UKYABA Champion Teen 2018 | Email: goldenbooksgirl@gmail.com | she/her

6 thoughts on “My Most Anticipated September-October Releases”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: