The Book Snob Tag

Hello everybody! Today, I’m going to be doing the Book Snob Tag, which I found on Lily’s blog and knew I had to do. Onto the post!


<!–more–>

Adaptation Snob: Do you always read the book before you see the movie?

No, I don’t. I’ve still not read the book of Brooklyn, which is one of my favourite films, and I probably won’t if I’m honest. I don’t like snobbery around this at ALL; books aren’t inherently, automatically better than films.

Format Snob: You can only choose 1 format in which to read books for the rest of your life. Which one do you choose: physical books, ebooks, or audiobooks?

I only read physical books anyway, so it’s a pretty easy choice for me here. Although I do want to try an audio book to see how I do with it, I find it harder to take in information audibly, particularly since I’m hard of hearing.

Ship Snob: Would you date or marry a non-reader?

Yeah, definitely. I mean, they’d have to be supportive of the fact that I love reading (my list of post ideas for if I get a partner is tragically long) but I wouldn’t rule out the possible love of my life just because they don’t read as much as I do.

Genre Snob: You have to ditch one genre – never to be read again for the rest of your life. Which one do you ditch?

Dystopia! I barely read any anyway so it wouldn’t change my reading that much at all.

Uber Genre Snob: You can only choose to read from one genre for the rest of your life. Which genre do you choose?

I’d quite like to steal Lily’s answer and just have the MG and YA sections please. If I can’t, probably fantasy because lots of fantasies have mystery plots too so I’d be getting both my faves. And you get contemporary-set fantasy too so I’d still be reading some contemporary too…

Community Snob: Which genre do you think receives the most snobbery from the bookish community?

Middle grade books without doubt, and it REALLY winds me up. You know the GIF of Anger from Inside Out’s head exploding? That’s me when I see yet another review saying “I’d have liked this if I was 8, but I’m not, so 2 stars.”. There’s a valid place for criticism of MG books, and if I don’t like one then I say so. But there’s a big difference between that and slating it solely because it’s middle grade.

Snobbery Recipient: Have you ever been snubbed for something that you have been reading or for reading in general?

Not that I can remember. I don’t tend to tell that many people offline exactly what I read, and those I trust enough to tell anything about my reading are good enough humans that they aren’t weird about it. A really lovely example of this is my French teacher from last year, who I often chatted about books with even though we read completely different things a lot of the time, and neither of us judged the other for what they read (she even said she liked the sound of We Won an Island and Robin Stevens! And as you’ll know if you read my reviews post for last month’s books, I loved the Girl You Left Behind, which she both recommended and bought me a copy of when I left school)


What would your answers to these be? Which ones do we agree and disagree on? I’d love to hear in the comments!

Amy x

Author: goldenbooksgirl

Disabled book blogger who also writes TV, film, music and other posts from time to time | UKYABA Champion Teen 2018 | Email: goldenbooksgirl@gmail.com | she/her

24 thoughts on “The Book Snob Tag”

  1. I might do this as its quite a short tag do I stand a chance of getting it done!
    I think the trick with audiobook us all in the choice – I’m struggling to get through Circe on audio I think because I need to pay too much attention to it. But I loved listening to Harry Potter as a re-read as I already knew the books and the Discworld books as I was familiar with some if the characters and the world. So I’d suggest trying an audiobook of something you already know first.x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bumped it up my list as I knew it’d be so quick and easy to do, and it really was! I’d love to hear your answers to it. I’ll definitely need to be careful with what I pick with audio books if I try them I think! I’ve noticed a few popping up on Spotify, and apparently they’re there legally, so I’ve been contemplating one of those maybe… x

      Like

  2. So glad to see this!!!!! Your answers are fantastic, I totally agree about the MG reviews- sometimes I have to step outside of my mindset when reading early chapter/lower MG sometimes and think how does/would Littlefae feel about this because it’s not written for a grown up it’s to ignite the imaginations of children and I hope I retain some of that β€˜age of believing’ even though I’m β€˜past it’! I can see the magic but when it’s bad it’s bad and not just because I’m not 8 anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I think criticism of books you just don’t enjoy is totally valid! It drives me MAD when people go into stuff KNOWING they don’t like it and then slate it for being too young! Even if I don’t personally love something that I find a bit too young, I always try to find positives to talk about or try to explain in a nice way that it just wasn’t for me πŸ’œπŸ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I love the idea of this tag! I also agree with you about people going on about a character’s age when they’re reading YA or MG. Honestly what do they expect?! it makes me think they pick a book up just to slate them. I don’t read many MG books but when I do, it’s because I know they will be fun and a nice change of pace from what I normally read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I definitely feel like there are people who just pick certain books up for something to slate, and it seems really harsh! Especially when their criticism is literally just “this was too immature for me” πŸ™„

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.